## **Elections in Epsom & Ewell**

This table shows you the various types of elections and when they are held.

Type of election	Electoral area	Seats or vacancies	How often	When	Last held	Next
Borough Council	14 wards*	2 or 3 per ward*	Every 4 years	First Thursday in May	4 May 2023	6 May 2027
Surrey County Council	5 divisions	1 per division	Every 4 years	First Thursday in May	6 May 2021	1 May 2025
UK Parliamentary	Epsom & Ewell constituency (also covers parts of Mole Valley DC) ^	1 per constituency	Every 5 years^^	Thursdays	12 Dec 2019 #	No later than Jan 2025 ^^^
Police & Crime Commissioner	Surrey Police Area – County of Surrey	1 in area	Every 4 years	First Thursday in May	6 May 2021 **	2 May 2024
European Parliamentary	South East region	10 in region	Every 5 years	Thursdays in May/June (votes counted on Sundays after all European polls have closed)	23 May 2019	Due to UK exit from EU no longer will be held

Epsom & Ewell has no Town or Parish councils.

## Note:

- \* As from May 2023 there are now 14 wards with a mix of two and three seats.
- ^ The Parliamentary constituency is changing and will consist of the whole of EEBC & the Ashtead & Leatherhead wards from Mole Valley DC. The wards previously included from Reigate & Banstead will no longer vote in the Epsom & Ewell constituency.
- ^^ After the 2010 Parliamentary election the Government announced changes to legislation and brought in fixed terms for Parliamentary elections although the Government can call an election at any time. ^^ In 2022 new legislation was brought in to repeal the Fixed Term Parliaments Act 2011 and this now allows the Prime Minister to call a general election at a time of their choosing.
- # This election was a snap election
- \*\* This Police & Crime Commissioner election was postponed from 7 May 2020 however the 4 year rule applies so the next election will be in 2024