Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards

Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards 2016

The 6th annual Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards took place on 4 October at Epsom Downs Racecourse. More than 200 guests were in attendance to celebrate the success of local athletes, coaches, teams and clubs who have made a significant impact on their sport in 2016.

There were more than 150 nominations across the 10 awards which made for very competitive award categories. The list of winners are included below.  

Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards 2016 - Award Winners

Award Winner
Better Sports Personality of the Year Diana Norman
Epsom Gymnastics and Trampoline Club Young Sports Personality of the Year Kieran Owens
Aon Hewitt Sports Club of the Year Ebbisham Sports Club 
Active Surrey Coach of the Year Chris Gauntlett
Epsom Golf Club Sports Team of the Year Sutton & Epsom RFC Ladies
AFC Ewell Young Sports Team of the Year Award Southfield Park Year 6 Tag Rugby
Epsom & Ewell Football Club Disability Sports Award Alexandra Rickham
The Rotary Club Outstanding Service to Sport Award Carole Goldsmith
Epsom & Ewell Colts Football Club Volunteer of the Year Dennis Jones
Surrey Playing Fields Young Volunteer of the Year James Peters

All nominations were assessed by an independent panel and whittled down to a short-list. The awards are hosted by Epsom & Ewell Borough Council in partnership with the Epsom & Ewell Sports and Leisure Council.

Congratulations to all the winners and shortlisted nominees. We would like to thank all of the award sponsors and their representatives who attended the awards. We would also like to say a special thank you to our headline sponsors The Jockey Club and Specsavers who sponsored the 2016 Epsom and Ewell Sports Awards.   

The next step: The Surrey Sports Awards

All local winners will go to the assessment panel for the Surrey Sports Awards. Shortlisted nominees for the County Awards will be announced in November. To find out more about the Surrey Sports Awards please visit the Active Surrey website.